City Landmarks

In Case You Missed This During National Preservation Month (May)

Enjoy this Virtual History of Redmond and the region

Unlock Redmond Landmarks

Redmond Kirkland Stage Coach 1904

Unlock Local Masonry Find

Brown's Garage Pigeonhole Masonry

Unlock Local History

Leary Way 1913

Unlock King County Corridors

KC Heritage and Scenic Corridors

Unlock Brown's Building

Bill Brown Entrance Barber approximately 1937

Unlock Washington Treasures

WA DAHP Gallery of Historic Places

Unlock Redmond Trading Co

Redmond Trading Company

Unlock 1970s Architecture

WA DAHP Groovy 1970s


16 Landmarks - 16 Unique Stories

Take a Self-Guided Tour of Historic-Period Sites

Historic-Period (existing and former) Sites in the Redmond Area

Historic Period Sites of Redmond

Redmond’s Heritage Resource Register and 16 Designated Historic Landmarks

The City Council established the Redmond Heritage Resource Register (Redmond Zoning Code) with 16 properties designated as City landmarks. Additional properties may be nominated, with the property owner’s consent, to become a City of Redmond landmark. Historical photo of Downtown Redmond

Most landmarked properties are eligible for a variety of incentives through King County, including tax benefits, grants, and loans.


Properties designated as City landmarks must apply for a Certificate of Appropriateness for any additions or modifications. The City’s Landmark Commission reviews applications for significant changes to landmarks to ensure that additions or modifications maintain the property’s historical integrity.